‘The Firebird’ reloads with new editors and chief photographers


Photo: Jake Shook

The new chief staff of the Firebird yearbook gather during the Quill & Scroll Banquet in the spring. From left, they are Maddie Renshaw, Mallory Waker, Morgan Joly, Hannah Miller, Sara Sweeterman and Morgan Emmel.

As the 2013-14 school year winds down, The Firebird yearbook is excited to add a new crop of leaders to take the reigns from seniors who are graduating.

Firebird Adviser Jessica Stickel knows that replacing her senior editors will be tough task. “This year’s leadership was really, really great,” said Stickel. “These outgoing chiefs won’t be replaced sentimentally, but in a practical way, yes, we will be fine next year.”

The new Editors-in-Chief are current juniors Morgan Joly, Hannah Miller and Sara Sweeterman and sophomore Mallory Waker. The Chief Photographers are junior Maddie Renshaw and sophomore Morgan Emmel.

“I had so much talent from which to choose,” said Stickel. “Each of them have something very unique to offer. I have a lot of confidence in them to get the job done.”

A new editorial staff comes with a learning curve. Stickel said this plays greatly into her choices.

“In long-term decision making, if a junior and a senior are equally qualified, I pick the junior for the sake of gaining experience,” said Stickel. “In some ways, the underclassmen have a leg up on their ‘opponents.’”