French National Honor Society inducts 18 juniors

Eighteen Fairmont juniors who excel in French were inducted into the French National Honor Society on April 17, 2014.

“It’s purely an honorary society, which means they get in based on their merit of grades,” explained Mary Townsend, the group’s adviser. “Students who get really good grades in French and show interest in their French language and culture get to be put into it.”

Townsend said the reception for the new members went well. “We even had a little French music,” she said.

Townsend noted that seniors in the group get to wear tassels that reflect France’s blue, white and red flag on their mortarboards at graduation. “Along with that, seniors get a special stamp on their diploma that says ‘Certificate of Excellence’ in French,” she said.

This year’s junior inductees are: Collin Berry, Lindsay Breslin, Alethea Caldwell, Maria Campanella, Anthony Cogliano, Angel Green, Dua’a Hindi, Ruth Jebessa, Sarah Kane, Ashley Laurent, Hannah Miller, Joanna Olsen, Alyssa Pestian, Cody Priser, Alexis Reed, Cydney Richards, Bethany Wager and Veronica Wyckoff.